Your favorite dessert recipes

Jammers

Reaction score
I have started making a desert for Saturday at our house. We try to eat healthy all week (I say TRY, lol) and then on Saturday, we get to eat "bad". I make a very easy Blackberry cobbler that hubby and one of my daughters love, this past weekend I make Pecan Pie muffins (easy too) that they both liked (other daughter is not much of a dessert/sweet eater). Anyway, I am tired of always making Blackberry cobbler and am looking for some new ideas. I am a decent baker, but not a fancy baker....make sense??

Would love to hear what your favorite dessert recipes are and am eager to try something new.

Pennsylvania Dutch Pumpkin Cake

Ingredients
Prep: 40 minutes | Cook: 1 hour | Total Time: 1 hour 40 minutes
  • 1 1/2 cups
    whole-wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 cups
    unbleached white flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons
    baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons
    baking soda
  • 1/2 cup
    no-trans-fat or low-trans-fat margarine
  • 1 1/4 cups
    granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup
    sugar substitute, replace with 1/2 cup granulated sugar, if desired
  • 1/4 cup
    maple syrup, or reduced-calorie pancake syrup
  • 1/4 cup
    fat-free or light cream cheese
  • 1 large
    egg
  • 1/2 cup
    egg substitute
  • 1 15-ounce can
    pumpkin, about 1 3/4 cups
  • 2 teaspoons
    vanilla extract
icon_instructions.png
Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Coat a Bundt or angel-food cake pan with canola cooking spray.
  2. Combine the first five ingredients in an 8-cup measure or medium bowl; stir to blend well.
  3. In mixing bowl, beat margarine, sugar, sugar-substitute, maple syrup, and cream cheese together. Add egg and egg substitute 1/4 cup at a time, beating after each addition.
  4. Add pumpkin and vanilla and beat until combined. Beat in the dry ingredients on low speed just until combined. Transfer batter into prepared pan, smoothing the top with the back of a spoon. Sprinkle chocolate chips over the top, if desired.